Yaze

Paintings

2007

Atelier de Chars, 2007 © Yaze 

Atelier de Chars, 2007 © Yaze 

Born in 1980 in Lyon. Lives and works in Paris.


"If I had to evoke Yaze's work in one word, I would abruptly use that of 'tear'. I don't know if this is quite appropriate to account for a work in the making and already imposing, but what immediately comes to mind in front of these immense portraits at the same time traced and destroyed, constructed and crossed out, underlying and enriched with scars, but always present, haunting, in their initial vigor. appearance as if their meaning could only appear in the addition of two contradictory and at the same time complementary elements. Two elements: a drawing (a design), and an existence. Flashes of blood red, bursts of fire from the orange, terrestrial evidence of ocher, pearlescent whites superimposed on the precise lines of the black line. Sometimes the writing in its magic brings a discreet and necessary note. Mysterious too.
We perceive in this creative torrent a violence that the artist has already redacted on the facades, vertical and free spaces of cities, the leprous walls of car parks and blackened stations. Graffiti and tags were Yassine “Yaze” Mekhnache's first writing exercises. As for Jean-Michel Basquiat who began in the streets of Soho the cruel and bewitching saga of Samo before Andy Warhol gave him the taste to paint on canvases. In certain respects, reading his impressive paintings, I place Yaze in the family of immense artists who are for me Cy Twombly - where the unspoken, the suggested, create poetry; Georges Baselitz - whose power overturns the norms; Yan Pei-Ming - which translates the savagery of the World… There is worse attendance.
Yaze sublimated his rough apprenticeship of street art. He controls his impulses by channeling them on his immense white pages that are his frames. But art is born out of constraint, as André Gide assured it. And in the constraints that he imposes on himself, Yaze lets his personal fury vibrate. It is she who matters to us. What does it reveal? What is she hiding? What does it tell us? Of him, of the world in which we live? The painter does not need words to convince us of his passion for the world. To suggest to us what he feels, what he suffers, what he likes. At the age of 26, through his painting, which is his weapon of defense and his language, Yaze imposes his truth on us. It is overwhelming. "
Jacques Bouzerand, October 2006

• Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Gris Cercle
  • LinkedIn - Gris Cercle

Yaze

Peinture

2007

Atelier de Chars, 2007 © Yaze 

Atelier de Chars, 2007 © Yaze 

Né en 1980 à Lyon. Vit et travaille à Paris.


"S’il me fallait évoquer d’un mot le travail de Yaze, j’emploierais abruptement celui de « déchirure ». Je ne sais pas si cela convient tout à fait pour rendre compte d’une œuvre en devenir et déjà imposante, mais ce qui d’emblée me vient à l’esprit devant ces immenses portraits à la fois tracés et détruits, construits et biffés, sous-jacents et enrichis de cicatrices, mais toujours présents, obsédants, dans leur vigueur initiale. Ils sont doubles d’apparence comme si leur sens ne pouvait apparaître que dans l’addition de deux éléments contradictoires et d’un même coup complémentaires. Deux éléments : un dessin (un dessein), et une existence. Fulgurances du rouge sang, éclats de feu de l’orange, évidences terrestres de l’ocre, nacres des blancs qui viennent se superposer aux traits précis du tracé noir. Parfois l’écriture dans sa magie apporte une note discrète et nécessaire. Mystérieuse aussi.
On perçoit dans ce torrent créatif une violence que l’artiste a déjà expurgé sur les façades, espaces verticaux et libres des villes, les murs lépreux des parkings et noircis des gares. Les graffitis, les tags ont été les premiers exercices d’écriture de Yassine « Yaze » Mekhnache. Comme pour Jean-Michel Basquiat qui débutait dans les rues de Soho la saga cruelle et envoûtante de Samo avant qu’Andy Warhol lui donne le goût de peindre sur des toiles. Par certains aspects, en lisant ses tableaux impressionnants, je situe Yaze dans la famille des immenses artistes que sont pour moi Cy Twombly – où le non-dit, le suggéré, créent la poésie ; Georges Baselitz – dont la puissance renverse les normes ; Yan Pei-Ming – qui traduit la sauvagerie du Monde… Il y a pire fréquentation.
Yaze a sublimé son apprentissage rugueux de l’art de la rue. Il maîtrise ses pulsions en les canalisant sur ses immenses pages blanches que sont ses châssis. Mais l’art naît dans la contrainte, comme l’assurait André Gide. Et dans les contraintes qu’il s’impose, Yaze laisse vibrer sa furie personnelle. C’est elle qui nous importe. Que dévoile t-elle ? Que cache t-elle ? Que nous dit-elle ? De lui, du monde dans lequel nous vivons ? Le peintre n’a pas besoin des mots pour nous convaincre de sa passion du monde. Pour nous suggérer ce qu’il ressent, ce qu’il souffre, ce qu’il aime. A 26 ans, par sa peinture, qui est son arme de défense et son langage, Yaze nous impose sa vérité. Elle est bouleversante."

Jacques Bouzerand, octobre 2006