Algerian war, crossed eyes

September 21 | 23 2012 | in partnership with the cinema Comoedia / Lyon

On the Algerian side, exalts the bitter conquest of its freedom by an oppressed people: thus, the Wind of Aurès, by Mohammed Lakhdar Hamina, because it is also the first "Great" feature film of Algerian cinema. This film won the First Work Prize at the Cannes Film Festival in 1967 and the Screenplay Prize at the Moscow Festival the same year, thus demonstrating, from that year on, the emergence of Algerian cinema in international cinema. .

The Battle of Algiers by Gillo Pontecorvo through La Question by Laurent Heynemann explores, on the French side, the gray areas of the conflict. Produced in 1960, Le petit soldat by Jean Luc Godard, showing situations of refusal of war, was censored and did not come out in theaters until 1963. Yves Boisset signed with his film RAS (1973) an uncompromising work in which he denounced the methods of the war of pacification used during the Algerian conflict. Later, directors drew on their own history or those of the generations that preceded them to return to the places and traces of this past, such as Philippe Faucon (Trahison), Okacha Touita (Les Sacrifiés) or Malek Bensmail (La Chine is still far away).

This program will take the form of screenings-meetings with the directors, and of a round table led by historians, researchers and filmmakers who question the articulation between the time of testimony and that of the writing of history.

Abdellah Zerguine

Artistic director

 

 

Guests | Yves Boisset, Philippe Faucon, Laurent Heynemann

Guerre d'Algérie, regards croisés

21|23 septembre 2012 | en partenariat avec le cinéma Comoedia/Lyon

Du côté algérien, exalte l’âpre conquête de sa liberté par un peuple opprimé : ainsi, le Vent des Aurès, de Mohammed Lakhdar Hamina, parce que c’est aussi le premier «grand» long-métrage du cinéma algérien. Ce film a eu le prix de la Première oeuvre au Festival de Cannes en 1967 et le prix du scénario au Festival de Moscou la même année, manifestant ainsi, dès cette année-là, l’irruption d’un cinéma algérien dans le cinéma international. 

La Bataille d’Alger de Gillo Pontecorvo en passant par La Question de Laurent Heynemann explore, côté français, les zones d’ombres du conflit. Réalisé en 1960, Le petit soldat de Jean Luc Godard, montrant des situations de refus de guerre, est censuré et ne sort en salle qu’en 1963. Yves Boisset signe avec son film R.A.S. (1973) une oeuvre sans concession dans lequel il dénonce les méthodes de la guerre de pacification utilisées durant le conflit algérien. Plus tard, des réalisateurs ont puisé dans leur propre histoire ou celles des générations qui les ont précédées pour revenir sur les lieux et les traces de ce passé, comme Philippe Faucon (Trahison), Okacha Touita (Les Sacrifiés) ou Malek Bensmail (La Chine est encore loin).

Ce programme se déploiera sous la forme de projections-rencontres avec les réalisateurs, et d’une table ronde animées par des historiens, chercheurs, cinéastes qui interrogent l’articulation entre le temps du témoignage et celui de l’écriture de l’histoire.

Abdellah Zerguine

Directeur artistique


Invités | Yves Boisset, Philippe Faucon, Laurent Heynemann​