SOUTHERN CINEMAS FESTIVAL 14th EDITION

in partnership with the Institut Lumière

 

From Thursday 24 to Sunday 27 April 2014 at the Institut Lumière, Lyon

 

Edition sponsored by Jack Lang,

President of the Arab World Institute  

Palestine Stéréo de Rashid Masharawi, 2013

T his diving in the cinema of the Maghreb and the Middle East today is looking at the social or political, giving a plural vision of these countries to the stories and different fates. The Arab revolutions have freed the word and we are witnessing the emergence of a young generation of authors carried by the vitality of youth. Many directors will come to present their film and meet the public.

 

 

 

The festival will present two films made by a new generation of Egyptian authors. We will open this edition with Rags and Tatters by the director, Ahmad Abdalla, whose previous film, Microphone , won him numerous international awards. The peregrinations of a rapidly changing society in the heart of the city of Cairo will also be observed during the screening of Asham , the first feature film by Egyptian Maggie Morgan.
We will then discover Palestine Stereo , a film in which Rashid Masharawi, a filmmaker from Gaza, tackles with sensitivity the protagonists' desire to escape their social condition.
Lebanese cinema will also be in the spotlight of this edition.
Head to Beirut with the choral film Blind Intersections by director Lara Saba, who for her first feature film chooses to deal with the divisions between the social classes of the capital while Un Homme d'Honneur , Jean-Claude's second feature film Codsi portrays the ambivalence between modernity and tradition within the Lebanese and Jordanian communities. A great figure in Syrian cinema, Mohamad Malas, will do us the honor of being present at the screening of his latest film, A Ladder for Damascus .

A dive into the heart of the Maghreb with Zero by filmmaker Nour-Eddine Lakhmari allows us to capture the dynamism of Moroccan cinema. This film is inspired in particular by the codes of American film noir.

On the Algerian side, La Preuve, by director Amor Hakkar, features actor Nabil Asli, revealed in Le Repenti by Merzak Allouache. By dealing with a subject still taboo in many societies, male infertility, this feature film explores another side of Arab cinema, more intimate and universal.

The preview film, Bastardo by young Tunisian filmmaker Néjib Belkhadi, the immersion of a poor neighborhood and its socio-cultural upheavals, will close this edition.

This introspection allows us to explore different forms of Arab cinematography by promoting above all a plurality of views and themes. The proposed film works, each in their own way, encourage the viewer to think of Arab cinemas as reflections of their societies but also witnesses of an era in constant evolution. These films, real windows on the world, allow us to discover a cinema still far too little distributed in France.


Abdellah Zerguine

artistic director

M.Malas, M.Morgan, N.Lakhmari, F.Hamak

Amor Hakkar

Mohamad Malas

L.Saba, A.Zerguine, M.Hefzy

N.Lakhmari, M.Morgan, N.Belkadhi, M.Malas

A.Zerguine, N.Lakhmari, L.Saba, M.Malas, D.Ziskind, M.Amarger

N.Belkadhi

A.Zerguine, JC.Codsi, L.Saba, F.Hamak; M.Hefzy, D.Ziskind

A.Zerguine, JC Codsi, F.Hamak,

A.Zerguine, N.Belkhadi, N.Lakhmari, M.Morgan

• Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • YouTube - Grey Circle
  • Google+ - Grey Circle

FESTIVAL CINEMAS DU SUD 14eme EDITION

en partenariat avec l'Institut Lumière

 

Du jeudi 24 au dimanche 27 avril 2014 à l'Institut Lumière, Lyon

 

Edition parrainée par  Jack Lang,

Président de l'Institut du Monde Arabe 

 

Palestine Stéréo de Rashid Masharawi, 2013

Cette plongée dans le cinéma du Maghreb et du Moyen-Orient d'aujourd'hui se penche sur le social ou le politique, donnant une vision plurielle de ces pays aux histoires et aux destins différents. Les révolutions arabes ont libéré la parole et on assiste à l'émergence d'une jeune génération d'auteurs portés par l'élan vital de la jeunesse. De nombreux réalisateurs viendront présenter leur film et rencontrer le public.

 

 

 

Le festival présentera deux films réalisés par une nouvelle génération d'auteurs égyptiens. Nous ouvrirons ainsi cette édition avec Rags and Tatters du réalisateur, Ahmad Abdalla, dont le précédent film, Microphone, lui valut de nombreux prix en sélection internationale. Les pérégrinations d'une société en pleine mutation au coeur de la ville du Caire seront également observées lors de la projection d'Asham, premier long-métrage de l'Egyptienne Maggie Morgan.
Nous découvrirons ensuite Palestine Stereo, film dans lequel Rashid Masharawi, cinéaste originaire de Gaza, aborde avec sensibilité le désir des protagonistes d'échapper à leur condition sociale.
Le cinéma libanais sera également à l'honneur de cette édition.
Cap sur Beyrouth avec le film choral Blind Intersections de la réalisatrice Lara Saba qui choisit pour son premier long-métrage de traiter des clivages entre les classes sociales de la capitale tandis qu'Un Homme d'Honneur, second long-métrage de Jean-Claude Codsi dépeint l'ambivalence entre modernité et tradition au sein des communautés libanaise et jordanienne. Une grande figure du cinéma syrien, Mohamad Malas, nous fera l'honneur d'être présent lors de la projection de son dernier film, Une échelle pour Damas.

Une plongée au coeur du Maghreb avec Zéro du cinéaste Nour-Eddine Lakhmari nous permet de rendre compte du dynamisme du cinéma marocain. Ce film s'inspire notamment des codes du film noir américain.

Du côté de l'Algérie, La Preuve, du réalisateur Amor Hakkar, met en scène l'acteur Nabil Asli, révélé dans Le Repenti de Merzak Allouache. En traitant d'un sujet encore tabou dans bon nombre de sociétés, la stérélité masculine, ce long-métrage explore un autre pan du cinéma arabe, plus intimiste et universel.

Le film en avant-première,  Bastardo du jeune cinéaste tunisien Néjib Belkhadi, l'immersion  d'un quartier pauvre et ses bouleversements socioculturels, clôturera cette édition.

Cette introspection nous permet d'explorer différentes formes de la cinématographie arabe en favorisant avant tout une pluralité des regards et thématiques. Les oeuvres filmiques proposées encouragent, chacune à leur manière, le spectateur à penser les cinémas arabes en tant que reflets de leurs sociétés mais aussi témoins d'une époque en constante évolution. Ces films, véritables fenêtres sur le monde, nous permettent alors de découvrir un cinéma encore bien trop peu distribué en France.


Abdellah Zerguine

directeur artistique
 

M.Malas, M.Morgan, N.Lakhmari, F.Hamak

Amor Hakkar

Mohamad Malas

L.Saba, A.Zerguine, M.Hefzy

N.Lakhmari, M.Morgan, N.Belkadhi, M.Malas

A.Zerguine, N.Lakhmari, L.Saba, M.Malas, D.Ziskind, M.Amarger

N.Belkadhi

A.Zerguine, JC.Codsi, L.Saba, F.Hamak; M.Hefzy, D.Ziskind

A.Zerguine, JC Codsi, F.Hamak,

A.Zerguine, N.Belkhadi, N.Lakhmari, M.Morgan